Just a Spark.

image

I saw them burn!
I saw them burn mercilessly.
I saw them burn alive,
On the dawn of a brand new day.
Men and women, young and old regardless of age,
Each tied onto a tyre,
just a spark and off they burnt.
I saw them burn!
I saw them burn houses
I saw them burn houses and shops of all walks of life.
Which we’re looted and destroyed.
Smothered with gasoline,
just a spark and off they burnt.
I saw them burn!
I saw them burn a library,
I saw them burn a library,
an atheneaum of knowledge.
Which was abundant with books…
Leaving not a single page,
Just a spark and off they burnt.   
I saw them burn!
I saw them burn  lives,their future, Their dreams ,leaving no hope for tomorrow, in a blink of an eye
all turned to ashes
By just a spark and off they burnt.

©Shahz

……………………………………………

Based on my true experience of the  Tamil ethnic violence which  occurred between the Sinhalese and Tamils in Srilanka in 1983.The bloodshed massacre on Tamil civilians which began on Monday the 24th July 1983 ignited the spark to an internal War which lasted in the country for more than three decades.
In response to today’s word prompt Burn.

6 thoughts on “Just a Spark.

Leave a Reply

